Stumpleupon Art – Zeke’s Beans and Bowls

This organic restaurant that I’ve visited in the Oceanfront area of Virginia Beach just screamed expression. The minute I walked in, I just sensed nothing but good aura and vibes with the art that was embedded into the walls, antiques, and old newspapers of major events (political and sports) on this old-fashioned table sitting beside what appeared to be the first typewriter ever made (I know it wasn’t, but it definitely almost fooled me it looked that old). Of course, I got a little bite to eat but before I wanted to eat what was probably the healthiest dish I’ve eaten all summer I went to the bathroom to go wash my hands because you know…it’s the normal thing to do right? I don’t recall what I ate EXACTLY, but it was along the lines of nachos with some organic sauce with a side of jalapenos and rice. Anyways, as I was in the bathroom, I felt like I was in some Twilight Zone acid trip seeing everybody express themselves through writings and drawings all over the wall. It just really looked just that although the people that did it at that moment were probably oblivious about what they were actually doing, they were forming an unity where people of different ideas came together into one project with the same motive: to be heard. It’s hard to be heard sometimes when people tend to walk by it because it’s not the latest trend or the hottest hype. Sometimes silence is really a virtue when you take the time to actually observe and digest what’s in front of you. Taking the time to think and reaching your deeper expressive self is something that doesn’t click with everybody right off the bat. However, when something such as words and subliminal messages are bleeding with ink through these wall you can’t but think about the beauty of silent motivation; it’s sometimes louder than sound when come to realizations and free your mind from temporary ignorance and embrace what’s in front of you.

Leave a comment